Regular Clerics

Regular clerics in the Catholic Church are a kind of monastic order, whose members are engaged in pastoral activities, as well as education and works of charity. Regular clerics are not in strict lock, and are more focused on social activities than on in-depth spiritual work on themselves in monasteries. They are exempt from the communal reading of the Liturgy of hours, obligatory for the monks of contemplative orders. The theaters, formed in 1524, became the first order of regular clerics. Until the end of the XVI century, about a dozen orders of regular clerics were formed, the most famous and numerous of which were the Jesuits. Some of these orders were subsequently dissolved. Currently, there are eight orders of regular clergy in the Catholic Church:
Varnavits and Jesuits
Camillians and Piarists
Somaskas and Theatrists and Order of Regular Clerics of the Mother of God
Order of Regular Smaller Clerics
The Order of Regular Clerics of the Mother of God
The Order of Regular Clerics of the Mother of God (Ordo Clericorum Regularium Matris Dei, OMD) was founded in 1574 by Saint John Leonardi (canonized in 1938) in Italy, approved in 1595. Monks are engaged in various types of pastoral activities. In 2009, there were 89 monks in the order, 50 of them were priests. The Order is owned by 17 cloisters.
The Order of Smaller Regular Clerics
The Order of Smaller Regular Clerics (Ordo Clericorum Regularium Minorum, C.R.M.) was founded in Naples in 1588. The main occupation of the members of the order is Eucharistic and missionary service. In 2009, there were 123 monks in the order, 63 of them were priests. The Order owns 19 monasteries located in Italy and the United States. About Varnavites, Jesuits, Kamillians, Piarists, Somascans, and Teatinians, see the corresponding articles.
Literature and links
Regular Clerics // Catholic Encyclopedia. T.4. M.: 2011. Art. 102-103.
“Clerks Regular” // Catholic Encyclopedia. 1913 (English)
Catholic religious orders
Monastic orders: Benedictines | Businesswomen | Camalduli | Cartesians | Trappists | Cistercians | Pauline | Ursuline
Poor Orders: Augustins (OSA) | Dominicans | Clarissinki | Carmelites | Minima | Servites | Trinitaria | Franciscans
Hospitalites: Bonifratra | Kamillians
Canons Regular: Augustins (CRSA) | Premonstrants
Regular Clerics: Varnavita | Jesuits | Piarists | Somaski | Theatermen
Church Congregations: Assumptionists | Basilians | Verbists | Klaretintsy | Mariana | Redemptorists | Salesians of Dona Bosco
Missionary Orders: White Fathers | Society of African Missions | Paris Society of Foreign Missions
Apostolic Life Society: Daughters of Charity | Lazarists | Oratorians | Sulpicians
Military Orders: Order of Malta (Hospitallers) | Order of the Holy Sepulcher in Jerusalem | Templars | Order of St. Lazarus | Order of Calatrava | Order of Santiago | Order of Montegaudio | Avis Order | Teutonic Order | Order of San Jorge de Alfama | Order of the Sword | Dobrin Order | Order of Montesa | Order of Christ | Order of St. Mary of Bethlehem
List of Catholic orders and congregations

Регулярные клирики

Случайные Статьи



Куарто (итал. Quarto) — коммуна в Италии, располагается в регионе Кампания, в провинции Не...
Уррусменди, Хосе Эусебио

Уррусменди, Хосе Эусебио

* Количество игр и голов за профессиональный клуб считается только для различных лиг нацио...
Go! Mokulele

Go! Mokulele

2009 Хабы международный аэропорт Гонолулу международный аэропорт Кона Бонусная программа ...


Са́улкалне (латыш. Saulkalne), — посёлок в Саласпилсском крае Латвии, расположен на правом бере...