Michael Kleiner
Menachem Begin
Date of dissolution:
Allies and blocs:
Moledet, Ha-Tikva, Tkuma, Eretz Yisrael Shelanu
Herut (Hebrew חֵרוּת, freedom) is an Israeli political movement founded in June 1948 by members Ezela (Irgun tsvai leummi) in order to turn Ezel from an underground military organization into a parliamentary party, which happened since October 1948.
1 1948 - 1973
2 Since 1999
3 Notes
4 Links
1948 - 1973
Founder and First the party leader was Menachem Begin; among the founders of the Herut were [1] Dr. I. Bader [2], E. Meridor [3], Esther Raziel-Naor [4] [5], J. Meridor [6], E. Lankin [7], X Landau [8].
In the First Knesset elections held on January 25, 1949, the Herut movement received 11.5% of the vote (14 seats) [9].
On the eve of the Knesset elections In 1965, on the basis of “Herut” and the Liberal Party, the “Gakhal” bloc was created, which received 26 seats in the elections [10].
In 1973, on the basis of the “Gakhal” and several smaller parties, the party “ Likud. " In 1977, the former head of Irgun, Menahem Begin, became Israeli Prime Minister as a result of the victory of the Likud party in the elections.
Since 1999
New Herut (also Herut - National Movement) was created in 1999 as a successor historical "Herut". According to the New Herut, the need for a party revival arose when the Likudo government of Israel enforced the Hebron agreement and agreed to transfer part of the territory of Judea and Samaria to the Palestinian Authority in Wye Plant. Knesset members Beni Begin (son of Menachem Begin), Michael Kleiner, and David Reem left the Likud and established the Jewish National Movement, a political instrument for continuing the struggle for the Land of Israel. Authoritative figures such as the country's ex-prime minister Yitzhak Shamir, a well-known politician, publicist and writer Shmuel Katz supported the use of the historical name by the new-old movement. After the election failure, Beni Begin temporarily left politics and the movement was led by Michael Kleiner. The New Herut enjoyed the support of the Beitar youth movement associated with the Likud and participated in the session of the World Jewish Congress. In the next election in 2003, Kleiner teamed up with Baruch Marzel, but the party was unable to overcome the 2% barrier and did not enter the Knesset (gained 36,000 votes, with 47,000 minimum). In the 2006 elections, Herut again failed to overcome the barrier. Also, Baruch Marzel, this time at the head of the Jewish National Front, did not overcome the barrier. Shortly before the 2009 elections, Kleiner returned to Likud after Beni Begin, but, unlike him, did not become a deputy.
By the 2009 elections, Baruch Marzel decided to head the Eretz Israel Shelanu party created by Rabbi Shalom Volpo, thus, after the last failure in the 2006 election, the party no longer came to the Knesset and ceased to exist. The Eretz Israel Shelanu party was included in the Ihud Leumi bloc, which received 4 seats in the Knesset of the 18th convocation, one of which was won by its deputy, Michael Ben-Ari. Baruch Marzel himself decided not to be elected to the Knesset.
↑ HERUT MOVEMENT, Susan Hattis Rolef jewishvirtuallibrary.org
↑ Bader Johanan - article from the Electronic Jewish Encyclopedia (1901-1994)
↑ Meridor Eliyahu - article from the Electronic Jewish Encyclopedia (1914–1966)
↑ Knesset: Esther Raziel-Naor (1912–2002)
↑ Aba Ahimeir. Selected Works, vol. 6, section Through the eyes of the reader: writers and books, journalists and the press. From the chapter “Aba Gordin: in the spirit of Kropotkin” // Esther Raziel-Naor Tel Aviv, 2003.
↑ Meridor Yaakov - article from the Electronic Jewish Encyclopedia (1913–96)
↑ Lankin Eliyahu - article from the Electronic Jewish Encyclopedias (1914–1994)
↑ Knesset: Knesset of the first convocation - Composition of the factions
↑ Knesset: Knesset of the first convocation - The composition of the factions
Herut - an article from the Electronic Jewish Encyclopedia - Glossary of Israeli Parties and Personalities - 1948-1981 en: Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs (JCPA) - Israeli Political Parties
View prisoners of war in the Knesset (120)
Likud - Our home Israel (31) • Yesh Atid (19) • Avoda (15) • Jewish house (12) • Shas (11) • Yahadut ha-Torah (7) • Ha-Tnua (6) • Merets (6) • RAAM-TAAL (4) • Hadash (incl. MAKI) (4) • Balad (3) • Kadima (2)
Those who did not pass
in 19- th Knesset - Atzmaut • Otsma le Israel • Am Shalem • Ale Yarok • Eretz Hadasha • Ha-Israelim • Yerukim • Dor Bonei Ha-Arez • Haim Be-Kavod • Daam • Achim Anahnu • Zedek Khevrati • Pirate Party • Kulanu haverim • Kalkala • Liberal-democratic development • Ohr • Brit olam • Elamel lTajire • Moreshet avo
Those who ceased to exist
The Association of Yemenis in Israel • Ahwa • Ahdut ha-Avoda • Ahi • Aliya • Atid • Atzmaut • HAHAL • DASH • Yamin Israel • Israel ba-Aliya • KAH • Liberal • Maarah • MAPAY • MAPAM • MAFDAL • Maymad • Mizrahi • MDA • Independent Liberals • Common Zionists • Progressive • RAFI • Rats • Free Center • Thiya • Ha-Tnua ha-yeruka • Hacklaut ve-Pituach • Herut • Tzomet • Shinui •
This preparation of an article about a political party. You can help the project by supplementing it.
In another language section there is a more complete article by Herut (English)
You can help the project by expanding the current article with the translation.


Случайные Статьи

Красноярский край

Красноярский край

Красноярский край Флаг Герб Административный центр Красноярск Площадь 2-й ...
Ничего себе поездочка

Ничего себе поездочка

драма / триллер Режиссёр Джон Даль Продюсер Крис Мур Джей Джей Абрамс Автор сценария Клэ...
Павлов, Геннадий Иванович

Павлов, Геннадий Иванович

Геннадий Иванович Павлов Дата рождения: 27 апреля 1932(1932-04-27) Место рождения: ...
Социализм (фильм)

Социализм (фильм)

драма Режиссёр Жан-Люк Годар Продюсер Рут Вальдбургер Автор сценария Жан-Люк Годар В&...